Maison d hotes Toulouse

version en Version fr

Culture

Culture

The Capitole

The name of Capitol comes from the word "chapter", the place where the Assembly is held. Today known as the city hall, the Capitol has not changed location since 1190, but its current appearance dates back to 1759. Its facade, conceived by the architect Georges Cammas, is decorated with eight columns of pink marble symbolizing eight Capitouls (municipal magistrates), as well as with numerous statues. The south wing of the building is home to the Capitol Theater. The room of the Illustrious presents magnificent paintings on the ceiling restored in 1999 and was classified as an "Historic Monument" in 1994. This room also showcases the busts of famous characters and is a popular place to be married in Toulouse today. The donjon of the Capitol, constructed in the XVIth century, sheltered the precious documents and the archives of the city. Since 1946, the tourist office is installed in the Keep. Information available at the tourist office at 05.61.11.02 .22. or www.toulouse-tourisme.com

The Saint-Sernin basilica

Built in the XIth century in memory of Saturnin, first bishop and martyr of Toulouse, the basilica Saint-Sernin is the largest Romanic church of the West. "It is necessary to let yourself be dazzled by the incomparable vision offered by the head of the church Saint-Sernin contemplated in the rising sun ", wrote Father Jean Rocacher in his work "Saint-Sernin " (Publishing(Editions) of the Zodiac, on 1990).We hardly grow tired, indeed, of this pondering, so much the perpetuity and the plenitude of the place strike the most blasé spirits. Then, can begin a journey, a thousand years behind … Information available at 05.61.21.80.45

Les Abattoirs - Modern and Contemporary Art Museum

This unique collection of more than 2500 works enables you to navigate a course through the artistic trends that emerged out of the Second World War, and up to the latest forms of contemporary creation. Many exhibitions are held throughout the year. Information available at 05.62.48.58.00 or www.lesabattoirs.org

The convent of Augustins

The construction of the convent of Augustins started in 1310, one year after the hermits of Saint-Augustin obtained the authorization from Pope Clement V to build their convent inside the walls of the city. In 1341, the church had been completely set up. From then on, the expansion and the influence of the convent will show themselves as extremely important. In 1790, with the abolition of the monastic orders, the convent became public property and was closed down. Today, the convent of the Augustins accommodates the Beaux-Arts Museum of the city. Symbolic of the Southern Gothic style architecture, the building shelters a rich collection of paintings and sculptures, from the beginning of the Middle Ages to the first years of the last century … The cloister shelters the reconstitution of a medieval garden. Information available at the tourist office at 05.61.11.02.22. or www.toulouse-tourisme.com


Chambres d'hotes Toulouse

Réalisation : Octavo